- Home
- Comparisons
- SFTP file areas and file transfer for business: costs compared
SFTP file areas and file transfer for business: costs compared
Our innovation, your solution: we compare the costs of a managed SFTP file area and of file-sending services with IntraDrive, their evolution for exchanging files with clients, branches and suppliers. IntraDrive does not use the SFTP protocol.
Legend: list prices and stated terms. “Not stated” means the information is not given on the page consulted, not that the feature is missing. IntraDrive cells: data provided by Thorsoft.
| Feature | IntraDrive | SFTP To Go | Files.com | AWS Transfer Family | WeTransfer | Smash |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Type of service | Business cloud storage with areas for external users Data provided by Thorsoft | Managed SFTP Source: elements.heroku.com · verified on 24 October 2026 | SFTP and managed file transfer Source: files.com · verified on 23 October 2026 | Managed SFTP server on AWS Source: aws.amazon.com · verified on 23 October 2026 | File sending Source: wetransfer.com · verified on 24 October 2026 | File sending Source: fromsmash.com · verified on 24 October 2026 |
| Price | €29/month with 64 GB; +1 TB at €85/month Data provided by Thorsoft | Starter up to $400/month (1 TB, 100 credentials); Small up to $160/month (50 GB) Source: elements.heroku.com · verified on 24 October 2026 | Starter $199/month or $2,099/year Source: files.com · verified on 23 October 2026 | $0.30 per hour per protocol (about $219/month) + $0.04 per GB transferred, S3 storage extra (US East prices) Source: aws.amazon.com · verified on 23 October 2026 | Teams €19 per user/month (minimum 2 users); Ultimate €23/month for individual use only Source: wetransfer.com · verified on 24 October 2026 | Team $25/month or $180/year Source: fromsmash.com · verified on 24 October 2026 |
| Users or credentials included | Unlimited Data provided by Thorsoft | 100 credentials (Starter) Source: elements.heroku.com · verified on 24 October 2026 | 10 full users + 50 system users (Starter) Source: files.com · verified on 23 October 2026 | Managed by the customer Source: aws.amazon.com · verified on 23 October 2026 | Teams: 2 to 50 members Source: wetransfer.com · verified on 24 October 2026 | Not stated on the page consulted Source: fromsmash.com · verified on 24 October 2026 |
| Storage included | 64 GB in the fee, no maximum cap Data provided by Thorsoft | 1 TB and 1 TB of traffic (Starter) Source: elements.heroku.com · verified on 24 October 2026 | 1 TB of storage and traffic, then $0.10/GB Source: files.com · verified on 23 October 2026 | S3 storage paid separately Source: aws.amazon.com · verified on 23 October 2026 | Teams up to 5 TB, expandable on request Source: wetransfer.com · verified on 24 October 2026 | Not stated on the page consulted Source: fromsmash.com · verified on 24 October 2026 |
| SFTP protocol | No: browser and IntraApp Data provided by Thorsoft | Yes Source: elements.heroku.com · verified on 24 October 2026 | Yes Source: files.com · verified on 23 October 2026 | Yes Source: aws.amazon.com · verified on 23 October 2026 | No Source: wetransfer.com · verified on 24 October 2026 | No Source: fromsmash.com · verified on 24 October 2026 |
| Versions and trash | Yes, with no expiry Data provided by Thorsoft | Not stated on the pricing page consulted Source: elements.heroku.com · verified on 24 October 2026 | Not stated on the pricing page consulted Source: files.com · verified on 23 October 2026 | Not stated on the pricing page consulted Source: aws.amazon.com · verified on 23 October 2026 | Not stated on the pricing page consulted Source: wetransfer.com · verified on 24 October 2026 | Not stated on the pricing page consulted Source: fromsmash.com · verified on 24 October 2026 |
| Artificial intelligence | ThorIA, optional Data provided by Thorsoft | Not stated on the pricing page consulted Source: elements.heroku.com · verified on 24 October 2026 | Not stated on the pricing page consulted Source: files.com · verified on 23 October 2026 | Not stated on the pricing page consulted Source: aws.amazon.com · verified on 23 October 2026 | Not stated on the pricing page consulted Source: wetransfer.com · verified on 24 October 2026 | Not stated on the pricing page consulted Source: fromsmash.com · verified on 24 October 2026 |
List prices excluding VAT; amounts in US dollars and Swiss francs converted for the calculation at an indicative rate (USD 1 = €0.86, CHF 1 = €1.07). Providers' information may change: always check their website.
Methodology and verification date
Comparison prepared by Thorsoft. IntraDrive data is provided by Thorsoft; competitor data and verification dates are those collected for this comparison. Prices are the Italian list prices, excluding VAT; for other currencies, apply the current exchange rate. Annual plans are shown as the equivalent monthly cost.
How to choose
- Whether the SFTP protocol is needed for automated integrations.
- External access, storage and included traffic.
Calculate the IntraDrive price for your users and storage · Guide to choosing business cloud storage
FAQ - Frequently asked questions
Can IntraDrive replace an FTP or SFTP server?
Yes, for exchanging files with clients, branches and suppliers: each external user sees only their own folders, from the browser. IntraDrive does not use the SFTP protocol; for automated transfers from business software, contact us.




